Asian Physics Olympiad(APhO) is currently the premier physics competition for pre-university students from Asian countries, and it is organized annually for secondary students. APhO is modeled after the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) and demands a similar level of intellectual capability from the participants. The main difference between APhO and IPhO is that a national team for APhO is composed of eight students at the most, instead of five for IPhO. The contestants are expected to be selected from general or technical secondary schools of the respective participating countries. The age of the competitors should not exceed twenty on June 30th of the year of the competition.

The APhO has its origins in the IPhO, and the first IPhO was held in Warsaw in 1967 as a premier physics competition for pre-university students from around the world. In 1999, the team leader of Indonesia, Dr. Yohanes Surya, together with the late President of IPhO, Prof. Waldemar Gorzkowski, undertook to create and organize the first Asian Physics Olympiad in April 2000 in Indonesia. This event attracted participation from 12 Asian countries. Its successful implementation has been followed by the subsequent host countries, Taiwan (2001), Singapore (2002), Thailand (2003), Vietnam (2004), Indonesia (2005, second time), Kazakhstan (2006), China (2007), Mongolia (2008), Thailand (2009, second time), Taiwan (2010, second time), Israel (2011), India (2012), Indonesia (2013, third time), Singapore (2014, second time), China (2015, second time), Hong Kong (2016), Russia (2017), Vietnam (2018) and Australia (2019).

The purposes to held Asian Physics Olympiad annually are: to promote regional collaboration in physics education and to help in setting up physics competitions in their own countries for assisting in the preparation of Asian students in international physics competitions. During the competition, participants also experience cultural exchange activities to increase mutual respect and gain an understanding among different lifestyles.

Online Submission Registration Conference Program

 Important Dates

Abstracts Submission Due

31 July, 2019

Notification of acceptance

31 August, 2019

Early-bird registration closes

15 October, 2019

Online registration closes

20 November, 2019

On-site registration

3 - 6 December, 2019